My new socks

Corded Rib Socks

Here they are. Finally finished. For posterity, they were knitted in Knit Picks Essential Tweed on US size 0 needles from a pattern out of Sensational Knitted Socks. This was the very first time I knitted traditional cuff-down socks with heel flaps and grafted toes and it went pretty well. I used a Twisted German Cast-On which I learned from this helpful video, and I am now a huge fan of this cast-on. If you need a stretchy edge, it is a great cast-on to use. To graft the toes I just followed Charlene Schurch’s instructions in the book, and they were pretty straightforward. I like the yarn and would use it again, except in the non-tweed version. You can’t really see it in this picture but the socks are covered with little tufts of fiber in contrasting colors, which apparently is what makes the yarn a “tweed”, but the tweedy flecks are in bright primary colors, which has a somewhat clownish effect. Still, the yarn is soft and nice to work with, and of course, you can’t beat the price. I’ll have to see how they wear over time.

Leave a Reply

