My favorite rainy day hat and scarf

My favorite rainy day hat and scarf

Originally uploaded by fireflowerknits

Those early fall rains are beginning to show up around the country. My solution is this hat and scarf. Both are from free online patterns and both used just one skein of yarn. The beret is made from a Lion Brand free pattern with one ball of KnitPicks Wool of the Andes. This means it cost about $2 to make. I love the rain but hate the feeling of dripping on the top of my head. The beret is cute and does the job without being too warm for use during spring and early fall. Felted worsted weight wool is great for keeping out the wet when you’re not looking for a ton of extra warmth. The scarf is made from one skein of Mountain Colors Weaver’s Wool Quarters which I got from my local yarn store, using Lisa Baumer’s Multi-directional Diagonal Scarf pattern (also available in PDF form here). I made mine fairly narrow, and use it to add just a touch of extra warmth when it’s breezy and wet but too warm for a wider or thicker scarf. This is not by any means the best picture of the scarf– you can see it’s charms with variegated and self-striping yarns here and here. It is a really fun pattern to knit, and is customizable for whatever length and width suits you.

One Response to “My favorite rainy day hat and scarf”

  1. flwrhead Says:

    I just wanted to say that I read you comment at Cassie’s and agree wholeheartedly. I admire your way with words and am adding you to my bloglines! Have great day!

    elizabeth
    http://www.trailingyarn.com


Leave a Reply

