Rose for Mama


Rose for Mama

Originally uploaded by fireflowerknits

This is the prototype lace motif I mentioned before which I am working on for an anniversary shawl for my parents. This one is top-down so it would appear right side up on the border of a round shawl. I am working with red crochet thread I had on hand, but for the actual shawl I intend to use natural color fingering weight superwash wool from KnitPicks. The yarn is out of stock, so while waiting for it to come in I am playing around with my ideas. I am fairly happy with this. It does look like a stylized rose, which is what I was going for. Mom’s wedding flowers were cream colored roses, and I am thinking of putting little glass pearl beads into the edging, since the thirtieth anniversary is traditionally the pearl anniversary. The cotton is hard on my hands, so I do just a little at a time. I think I will try today or tomorrow with two sets of leaves instead of just one. We’ll see how that looks.

Leave a Reply

